Latest news

Every story on Business News Kenya, newest first.

SanlamAllianz Kenya sponsors seven runners for 2026 Cape Town Marathon

SanlamAllianz Kenya sponsors seven runners for 2026 Cape Town Marathon

3 min read

SanlamAllianz Kenya has sponsored seven Kenyan runners to participate in the 2026 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon, as the South African race enters what organisers describe as an “Evaluation Year” on its path to becoming the 8th Abbott World Marathon Major and the first on the African continent.

In a media release dated May 24, 2026, the insurer said it will provide a full sponsorship package for the athletes to compete in Cape Town. The company named the sponsored runners as Japheth Kiplagat, James Munga, Fridah Chepkite Lodepa, Josephat Kipkoech, Dixon Marende, Meshack Shivina and Emily Chepkor.

The development comes as the Cape Town Marathon seeks to join the global World Marathon Majors series, a list that currently includes races such as London, Berlin, Boston and Tokyo. Organisers say that once the event attains Major status, runners who complete the race will receive an official Abbott World Marathon Major star, with finishers in the candidacy period earning a “provisional star” that will later be upgraded.

According to the media release, the 2026 edition is expected to host more than 27,000 runners, including 8,500 international participants from 102 countries and runners from more than 25 African nations. Sanlam is listed as the title sponsor of the event.

SanlamAllianz Kenya said its sponsorship follows a nationwide challenge run on Strava, a fitness tracking platform, under its “African Champions Unite” campaign. The company said it partnered with running clubs and opened participation to recreational and professional runners.

“At SanlamAllianz Kenya, we stand firmly beside our athletes at every stage of their journey,” said Dr. Nyamemba Patrick Tumbo, Group CEO of Sanlam Allianz Holdings (Kenya) PLC, in the media release. He added: “Beyond sponsorships to professional elite runners, we designed the African Champions Unite Campaign to give back to our community by partnering with running clubs and inviting every Kenyan citizen to take part in the challenge, nurturing the dreams of Kenyan runners.”

The insurer said the campaign ran from April 20 to May 10, 2026 and that winners received a fully sponsored trip to Cape Town. According to the media release, the sponsorship package includes return flights, airport transfers, accommodation, marathon entry, travel insurance, food and beverages, and a race kit.

For Kenya’s corporate sector, the sponsorship highlights the continued role of private companies in financing sports participation and athlete mobility, particularly in events that offer global visibility. It also reflects how consumer fitness platforms such as Strava are increasingly being used to run nationwide engagement campaigns, linking brand activity to measurable participation.

The media release also points to increased competition incentives at the Cape Town Marathon. Organisers have set the 2026 winner’s prize at USD 35,000 (about KES 4.5 million), up from USD 25,000 (about KES 3.2 million) in 2025, according to SanlamAllianz Kenya. The higher purse may attract more elite runners and strengthen the event’s case as it seeks Major status.

Looking ahead, the key milestone will be whether the Cape Town Marathon secures Abbott World Marathon Major recognition following the evaluation period. For Kenyan runners and sponsors, the decision will determine whether the race becomes a permanent top-tier marathon destination within Africa’s time zone and travel radius, potentially opening more opportunities for participation and commercial partnerships in the region.

SanlamAllianz Kenya has sponsored seven Kenyan runners to compete at the 2026 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon as the race undergoes an “Evaluation Year” in its bid to become an Abbott World Marathon Major. The insurer said the athletes were selected through a nationwide Strava challenge that ran from April 20 to May 10, 2026.

Sanlam Allianz Kenya sponsors seven elite runners for 2026 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon

Sanlam Allianz Kenya sponsors seven elite runners for 2026 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon

3 min read

Sanlam Allianz Holdings (Kenya) PLC has sponsored seven elite Kenyan runners to participate in the 2026 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon, as the South African race enters what organisers describe as an “Evaluation Year” in its bid to become the eighth Abbott World Marathon Major.

In a media release dated May 21, 2026, SanlamAllianz Kenya said it had backed Japheth Kiplagat, James Munga, Fridah Chepkite Lodepa, Josephat Kipkoech, Dixon Marende, Meshack Shivina and Emily Chepkor to represent Kenya at the event.

The insurer said the 2026 marathon is expected to draw more than 27,000 runners, including 8,500 international participants from 102 countries and athletes from more than 25 African nations. According to the statement, finishers will receive a provisional Abbott World Marathon Major star that would be upgraded if the Cape Town Marathon attains Major status.

The announcement places Kenyan participation within a broader push by African cities and sponsors to elevate flagship sporting events to global recognition. For Kenya—home to some of the world’s most successful distance runners—corporate-backed participation in high-profile international races is also a branding and market-positioning tool for firms seeking stronger consumer visibility, particularly in retail-facing sectors such as insurance.

Sanlam Allianz Holdings (Kenya) PLC Group CEO Dr. Nyamemba Patrick Tumbo linked the sponsorship to the company’s community engagement through running clubs and open challenges.

“At SanlamAllianz Kenya, we stand firmly beside our athletes at every stage of their journey,” Dr. Tumbo said. “Beyond sponsorships to professional elite runners, we designed the African Champions Unite Campaign to give back to our community by partnering with running clubs and inviting every Kenyan citizen to take part in the challenge, nurturing the dreams of Kenyan runners.”

SanlamAllianz Kenya said the “African Champions Unite” campaign ran from April 20 to May 10, 2026, and was monitored on Strava. The company said the programme invited running enthusiasts across the country to compete for a fully sponsored trip to Cape Town.

According to the media release, the sponsorship package included return flights to Cape Town, airport transfers, accommodation, marathon entry, travel insurance, food and beverages, and a race kit.

The statement also highlighted an increase in the marathon’s winner prize. The 2026 edition will offer a first prize of USD 35,000 (about KES 4.5 million), up from USD 25,000 (about KES 3.2 million) in 2025, according to the company. Higher prize money typically increases elite-field competitiveness and can strengthen a race’s case for inclusion among global majors, which in turn drives sports tourism, broadcast interest and sponsorship activity.

For Kenyan athletes, an expanded international calendar with better-funded African races could provide more nearby, high-paying competition without the travel demands associated with Europe and North America. For Kenyan corporates, it signals an opportunity to attach brand visibility to endurance sports—an area with strong public resonance—while aligning with wellness and community initiatives.

Looking ahead, the Cape Town Marathon’s Major-status decision will be a key milestone for the region’s sports economy. For SanlamAllianz Kenya, the next test will be the on-road performance of its selected runners and whether the campaign model becomes a recurring sponsorship pathway tied to mass-participation sports.

Sanlam Allianz Holdings (Kenya) PLC has sponsored seven elite Kenyan runners to compete at the 2026 Sanlam Cape Town Marathon as the race seeks Abbott World Marathon Major status. The insurer said the selection followed an “African Champions Unite” challenge run on Strava between April 20 and May 10, 2026.

PGK Equator Tour heads to Thika as Safaricom-backed Mohit Mediratta targets second-leg win

PGK Equator Tour heads to Thika as Safaricom-backed Mohit Mediratta targets second-leg win

3 min read

Sigona Golf Club’s Mohit Mediratta will headline the second leg of the PGK Equator Tour at Thika Sports Club from Thursday, May 21 to Sunday, May 24, after winning the opening leg in April at Vet Lab Sports Club, according to a statement issued in Nairobi on May 20, 2026.

Mediratta, who is backed by Safaricom, said he expects increased pressure at Thika’s par-72 course as other players target the top positions in the tour’s second edition, which runs from April 2026 to February 2027.

The tour stop in Thika is expected to attract more than 50 professional golfers competing for overall honours and the corporate category title, the statement said. Safaricom-backed players Mutahi Kibugu, Samuel Njoroge and Matthew Wahome are among those listed as contenders seeking to challenge Mediratta’s position on the leaderboard.

The tournament matters to Kenya’s sports and events economy because it provides competitive platforms that can help develop professional golf talent and sustain corporate sponsorship in local sport. The organisers say the PGK Equator Tour is part of the pathway to international competition and also serves as a pre-qualifier for Kenyan professional golfers seeking to play at the Magical Kenya Open.

In the statement, Mediratta linked his approach to the second leg to maintaining form after the first event, where he was the overall winner. “I am keen to continue with the strong performance as we head to the second leg of the PGK Tour this week. The pressure is there, but I am looking forward to the challenge. As part of the corporate team supported by Safaricom, I am hopeful that we will retain the top corporate title,” he said.

Safaricom’s continued sponsorship of golfers and related events places the listed telecommunications firm among corporates supporting Kenyan sport as part of broader brand and community engagement strategies. In an “About Safaricom” section included with the release, the company said it has more than 71.6 million customers across Kenya and Ethiopia and estimated its total economic value at KES 1.1 trillion (US$8.5 billion) for the 12 months through March 2025. The company also reported annual revenues of KES 400 billion as at March 2026.

Safaricom further said its M-PESA business generated KES 182.7 billion in revenue as at FY26 and that mobile money has contributed to financial inclusion in Kenya rising to 84.8% of the adult population in 2024 from 26.7% in 2006. Business News Kenya could not independently verify the figures; they were presented in the company’s statement.

For the local golf calendar, the tour’s schedule through February 2027 provides a multi-stop competitive series that can influence player rankings and visibility, while also strengthening host venues’ ability to attract spectators, sponsors and hospitality spending. The release said the PGK Equator Tour also plays “a key role on the road” to qualification for the 2028 Olympic Games in Los Angeles, underscoring the strategic importance of consistent domestic competition for Kenyan professionals.

The second edition of the tour began in April 2026 and is set to conclude with a grand finale in February 2027, the statement said. The Thika leg is the next test for leading players as they pursue points, prize placements and corporate category honours in the months ahead.

Sigona Golf Club’s Mohit Mediratta will lead a Safaricom-backed contingent into the second leg of the PGK Equator Tour at Thika Sports Club from May 21 to 24. Organisers say the tour feeds into Kenya’s elite golf pipeline, including qualification pathways to the Magical Kenya Open and the 2028 Los Angeles Olympic Games.

KCB Group named among Financial Times Africa’s Fastest-Growing Companies 2026 for second year

KCB Group named among Financial Times Africa’s Fastest-Growing Companies 2026 for second year

3 min read

KCB Group has been recognised for a second consecutive year in the Financial Times Africa’s Fastest-Growing Companies 2026 ranking, compiled in partnership with data firm Statista, the lender said in a statement.

The ranking assesses companies based on their compound annual growth rate between 2020 and 2023, according to KCB’s press release. The list, now in its fifth year since launching in 2021, tracks firms seen as contributing to job creation and competitiveness across African economies, the lender added.

The recognition comes as Kenyan banks face a tougher operating environment shaped by elevated interest rates in recent years, pressure on household and SME purchasing power, and intensified competition from mobile money and fintechs. For listed lenders, growth and profitability metrics are closely watched by investors on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) as they balance credit growth, asset quality and capital allocation.

KCB said it delivered improved profitability in its latest reported full-year performance. “In 2025, the Group posted a resilient result, with net profit rising by 11% to a record KShs. 68.4 billion, translating to a 22.5% return on equity,” the statement said. The group added that the performance “positioned the Group among the top-performing companies on the Nairobi Securities Exchange.”

On its balance sheet, KCB said it “maintained its leadership position by asset size,” reporting that total assets increased by 9.3% to KShs. 2.15 trillion.

The bank attributed its performance to its business mix and investments across the region. “The Group’s regional diversification strategy continues to strengthen resilience and drive performance across markets,” KCB said. It added that results reflected “the strength of the core banking business, sustained customer franchise growth, the benefits of regional diversification and continued investments in digital transformation and operational efficiency.”

For Kenya’s banking sector, KCB’s inclusion on the Financial Times-Statista list may reinforce the market’s focus on scale, cross-border earnings and technology-led cost discipline as key levers for growth. Analysts typically view regional diversification as a buffer against localised shocks, though it can also increase exposure to multiple regulatory regimes and currency volatility across East Africa.

Looking ahead, the extent to which KCB sustains growth rates comparable to the period assessed by the ranking (2020–2023) is likely to depend on credit demand, funding costs, asset quality trends and execution of its digital and efficiency programmes. Investors will also watch for updates on performance across its regional subsidiaries and the group’s ability to defend margins as competition for deposits and loans remains tight.

KCB Group has been listed for a second consecutive year in the Financial Times Africa’s Fastest-Growing Companies 2026 ranking compiled with Statista. The lender cited its 2025 profit growth and balance-sheet expansion as factors underpinning its performance across regional markets.

ANZA MMA schedules Pro Nights 002 for June 6 at Broadwalk Mall

ANZA MMA schedules Pro Nights 002 for June 6 at Broadwalk Mall

3 min read

ANZA MMA will hold its second professional mixed martial arts event, ANZA MMA Pro Nights 002, on Saturday, June 6 at Broadwalk Mall on Ojijo Road in Nairobi, with bouts set to start from 5pm, according to a media statement dated May 19, 2026.

The promotion said the event will feature fighters from across East Africa, listing Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, the Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan among the participating countries. The fight night follows ANZA MMA’s inaugural professional event held in December 2025.

The main event is set to pit Kenyan featherweight Ouhsummer Ali Abad, nicknamed “Ninja Turtle,” against South Sudan’s Peter Bushak. ANZA MMA said Ali Abad delivered a “first-round technical finish” during the December 2025 event and will face Bushak in a featherweight bout.

On the main card, Kenya’s George Itumo, known as “The Maverick,” is scheduled to face DR Congo’s Ken Boton in a bantamweight contest. ANZA MMA said Itumo won his December bout in the first round, while Boton comes off a win over Uganda’s Josiah Lumunya at Impact Championship.

Kenyan heavyweight Kevin Odongo is also listed to return, against Congolese heavyweight Romain Kasase. The statement also referenced rapper Octopizzo entering the cage with Odongo after his December fight.

The main card is completed by a featherweight bout between Tanzania’s Rashid Mlegelo of Dar MMA and a Zambian fighter identified as Chilufya.

On the preliminary card, ANZA MMA listed a middleweight bout between Alhassan Mosala of Nairobi Jiu-Jitsu Academy and William Odino, both from Kenya. Other preliminaries named in the statement include Zambia’s Mende against DR Congo’s Angtenda; Kenya’s Brian Munyi of Chanuka Self Defense against Uganda’s Farouk Ogwal; South Sudan’s Thon against Uganda’s Mukiibi; and Kenya’s Leslie Masiga against Uganda’s Justin Okot.

While the event is primarily a sports property, recurring fight nights have become part of Nairobi’s wider entertainment economy, generating demand for venue space, ticketing, security services, brand partnerships and adjacent hospitality spending, particularly for malls and mixed-use developments that host large crowds during weekend hours. Broadwalk Mall, located along Ojijo Road, is among the city’s established retail and leisure venues.

ANZA MMA also used the statement to position the event as a continuation of its December 2025 debut, saying “the first ANZA MMA pro event… completely [sold] out the venue,” and that “demand far exceeded capacity, with many spectators… turned away at the doors due to the packed arena.” The organisation did not disclose ticket prices, attendance figures, or revenue from the previous event.

The promoter also cited the entertainment crossover around the inaugural event, stating that attendees included public figures such as Nviiri the Storyteller, Boutross, Chiki Kuruka and Savara, as well as Kenyan MMA fighter Felista Mugo.

Tickets for the June 6 event are being sold via HustleSasa, according to the statement. ANZA MMA said further event materials, including posters and images from the first event, are available for download through links provided to media.

Next, attention will turn to whether the second event matches the December 2025 turnout and whether ANZA MMA can maintain a regular calendar of professional fight nights in Nairobi, a key factor in building sustainable athlete pathways and attracting regional participation.

ANZA MMA will host its second professional fight night, ANZA MMA Pro Nights 002, on June 6 at Broadwalk Mall on Ojijo Road in Nairobi. The card will feature fighters from Kenya and across the region, with Kenyan featherweight Ouhsummer Ali Abad set to headline against South Sudan’s Peter Bushak.

TikTok removed 820,552 videos in Kenya in Q4 2025, banned 108,752 accounts

TikTok removed 820,552 videos in Kenya in Q4 2025, banned 108,752 accounts

3 min read

TikTok removed 820,552 videos in Kenya in the fourth quarter of 2025 for violations of its Community Guidelines and banned 108,752 accounts in the country over the same period, according to the company’s Q4 2025 Community Guidelines Enforcement Report released on May 19, 2026.

The company said 99.9% of the removed videos in Kenya were taken down proactively before any user reports were made, while 98.4% were removed within 24 hours of posting. TikTok said the figures reflect its use of detection systems and rapid response processes to limit the spread of content it deems harmful.

In addition to content removals, TikTok reported that 93,704 of the 108,752 banned accounts in Kenya were suspected to belong to users below 13 years old, which violates the platform’s rules.

The enforcement data comes as Kenya’s digital economy continues to expand and more consumer-facing businesses, creators and advertisers rely on short-form video platforms to reach audiences. The scale and speed of takedowns is increasingly relevant for brand safety, regulatory scrutiny and online child protection—areas that have become more prominent across East Africa as internet penetration rises.

“In the fourth quarter of 2025, TikTok removed 820,552 videos in Kenya for violating its Community Guidelines,” TikTok said in the report. “99.9% of these videos were proactively removed before anyone reported them, while 98.4% were taken down within 24 hours of posting.”

On account enforcement, the company added: “Additionally, TikTok banned 108,752 accounts in Kenya for policy violations,” noting that “93,704 accounts were suspected of being accounts aged below 13.”

Globally, TikTok said it removed 175,302,085 videos in the quarter, representing about 0.5% of all uploads on the platform. The company reported that 152,580,933 videos were detected and removed using automated detection technologies, while 8,360,780 videos were reinstated after further review. TikTok said its global proactive removal rate was 99.1%, with 93.4% of flagged content removed within 24 hours of posting.

For Kenya’s business landscape, the report’s data points to continued tightening of platform enforcement that can affect publishers, influencers and small businesses that depend on organic reach. More automated moderation may reduce exposure to prohibited content but can also increase the risk of erroneous takedowns, particularly for news-adjacent content, public interest debates or vernacular-language posts that automated systems may interpret incorrectly. TikTok’s disclosure that millions of videos were reinstated globally after review suggests that appeals and secondary checks remain part of its moderation process.

The company said it enforces policies at scale by combining “advanced automated moderation tools” with “thousands of trust and safety professionals worldwide,” and that it targets content including misinformation and hate speech, among other violations.

TikTok directed users and the public to its published transparency documentation for details, stating that the full Q4 2025 Community Guidelines Enforcement Report is available online.

TikTok said it removed 820,552 videos in Kenya in the fourth quarter of 2025 for violating its Community Guidelines, with 99.9% taken down proactively. The platform also reported banning 108,752 accounts in Kenya over the same period, including 93,704 suspected to belong to users under 13.

I&M Bank closes KES 23.23bn MTN tranche after 232% oversubscription

I&M Bank closes KES 23.23bn MTN tranche after 232% oversubscription

3 min read

I&M Bank Limited has closed its first tranche under a Kenya shilling-denominated Medium-Term Note (MTN) Programme after the offer attracted applications worth KES 23,225,850,000 against a planned KES 10 billion, translating to a 232.26% subscription rate, the bank said on 18 May 2026 in Nairobi.

In response to demand, the bank said it exercised a KES 3 billion green-shoe option, bringing the total allotment for Tranche 1 to KES 13,000,000,000.

The note is structured as a fixed-rate instrument with a tenor of five years and six months, and is part of the lender’s long-term funding strategy. I&M said the proceeds are intended to support onward lending, strengthen capital adequacy through Tier II capital enhancement, and fund strategic business expansion.

The transaction adds to a growing pipeline of corporate debt issuance in Kenya’s capital markets as lenders and large corporates seek longer-dated funding to match balance-sheet needs and reduce reliance on shorter-term deposits. For investors, bank-issued notes typically provide an alternative to government securities, while exposing portfolios to credit risk linked to the issuer’s performance and sector conditions.

I&M Group Regional CEO Kihara Maina attributed the result to investor support for the group’s strategy and execution. “The strong response to this offer is a clear vote of confidence in I&M Bank’s long-term strategy, financial resilience and disciplined execution,” Maina said.

He added that the issuance also reflected broader market dynamics. “The success of this issuance is not only positive for I&M Bank, but also for Kenya’s capital markets. It signals growing investor confidence in corporate bonds as an important asset class and demonstrates the continued depth, resilience and maturity of Kenya’s capital markets,” Maina said.

According to the bank, successful applicants will receive confirmation of allotment via email, and the notes are expected to be credited to investors’ Central Depository & Settlement Corporation (CDSC) accounts on or about 19 May 2026.

The notes are expected to be listed on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) Main Fixed Income Securities Market Segment on 21 May 2026, subject to receipt of regulatory approvals and completion of post-allotment processes, I&M said.

For Kenya’s debt capital markets, the oversubscription suggests demand for corporate fixed-income instruments remains strong, particularly for issuers with established track records and clear use-of-proceeds disclosures. If more banks and corporates successfully tap the market, it could deepen secondary-market liquidity at the NSE and broaden funding options for private sector growth.

I&M said the MTN programme is part of a broader effort to diversify its funding base and strengthen balance sheet resilience, and that the first tranche supports its longer-term strategic positioning in Kenya and the region.

I&M Bank Limited said its first tranche under a Kenya shilling Medium-Term Note (MTN) Programme attracted applications worth KES 23.23 billion against a planned KES 10 billion, representing a 232.26% subscription rate. The lender said it exercised a KES 3 billion green-shoe option, lifting the tranche allotment to KES 13 billion, with listing on the Nairobi Securities Exchange expected on 21 May 2026 subject to approvals.

TECNO launches offline AI tools in Kenya targeting traders, students and families

TECNO launches offline AI tools in Kenya targeting traders, students and families

4 min read

TECNO on May 15, 2026 launched a suite of smartphone-based artificial intelligence (AI) tools in Nairobi that it says can operate without an internet connection, positioning the move as a response to high data costs and patchy connectivity that limit technology use for many Kenyans.

The company said the tools were launched at the University of Nairobi and are designed for everyday use cases including schoolwork support, basic health information searches and small business record-keeping performed directly on a user’s handset.

“AI should not be only for expensive devices. It should help a student revise, a trader track sales, a parent translate information, or a creator make better content,” said Elvis Ndekwe, TECNO AI Product Operations Officer. “Our goal is to make AI simple, useful, and available to more Kenyans”.

TECNO cited findings from research firm Omdia, saying high data costs and weak network signals often prevent Kenyans from adopting new technology. In response, the firm said it has built its AI features to run “on-device”, meaning processing is done locally on the phone rather than sending data to remote servers over the internet.

According to TECNO, running these functions on the handset is intended to allow users to access tools even when they have no airtime or data bundles, a common constraint for households and micro-businesses that rely on prepaid mobile services.

Tools aimed at informal trade, learning and health information

TECNO said the release focuses on three practical areas: small business support, education and healthcare information.

For small businesses, the company said the AI can act as a “Virtual Consultant” by reading payment messages and SMS to generate automatic record-keeping and M-PESA-linked money summaries. The firm said this is meant to help traders track sales and manage cash flow offline, potentially lowering reliance on third-party bookkeeping apps that require connectivity.

In education, TECNO said students can use its “Ella AI assistant” to summarise long documents and YouTube videos into shorter study notes. The company characterised the tool as an always-available study aid that continues to function while offline.

For healthcare, TECNO said its system provides voice-guided health tips and support in local languages, with the aim of helping families access wellness information without travelling long distances to clinics. The firm did not provide clinical validation details, and it did not specify whether the content is reviewed by medical professionals.

Local language support and camera features

TECNO also said a key part of the rollout is local language recognition. The company said the system has been trained on local data to recognise Swahili and Sheng’, and to interpret code-switching—mixing local languages with English within the same sentence.

In addition, TECNO said its “Universal Tone” camera feature is intended to capture natural skin tones for people with darker complexions in varied lighting conditions such as markets and streets. The firm said the feature addresses a longstanding issue where camera software can misrepresent darker skin tones.

Why it matters for Kenya’s mobile and digital economy

Kenya’s digital economy is heavily mobile-led, with smartphones serving as the primary computing device for many consumers and micro-enterprises. Features that function without internet connectivity could appeal to users facing intermittent network coverage or seeking to reduce spending on data bundles, particularly in the informal sector where day-to-day cash management is critical.

The emphasis on SMS and payment message parsing also reflects how deeply mobile money is embedded in Kenyan commerce. If widely adopted, offline tools that structure transaction information could increase basic financial record-keeping among micro and small enterprises—an area often cited as a barrier to accessing formal credit.

Outlook

TECNO did not disclose pricing, device models supported, or a rollout timeline beyond the launch event. Market uptake is likely to depend on which handsets receive the features, how well the tools perform across Kenya’s languages and usage patterns, and user confidence around how sensitive SMS and payment information is handled on-device.

TECNO says it has launched new artificial intelligence tools in Kenya designed to run on smartphones without an internet connection, citing data costs and inconsistent connectivity as barriers to adoption. The company unveiled the features at the University of Nairobi on May 15, 2026, and says the tools include record-keeping for small traders, study support for students and voice-guided health information in local languages.

CFAO Mobility Kenya and Stanbic Bank renew vehicle financing agreement

CFAO Mobility Kenya and Stanbic Bank renew vehicle financing agreement

3 min read

CFAO Mobility Kenya and Stanbic Bank Kenya have renewed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) aimed at expanding access to vehicle financing for customers purchasing vehicles from CFAO Mobility’s portfolio, the companies said in a statement dated May 11 in Nairobi.

Under the renewed agreement, customers can access financing of up to 100% for personal vehicles and up to 90% for commercial vehicles, with “zero processing fees” and repayment periods of up to 96 months for salaried customers and up to 72 months for business clients, according to the press release.

The partnership is intended to support both individual and business buyers at a time when access to credit remains a key constraint in the automotive market, particularly for first-time buyers and small enterprises that rely on vehicles for delivery, logistics and field operations.

Daniel Maundu, General Manager, Toyota National Sales at CFAO Mobility, said the renewed deal targets customers who want to own a vehicle but face financing barriers. “At CFAO Mobility, we believe car ownership starts with access. Every day, we meet customers who are ready to own a vehicle but face financial constraints. That is why today’s partnership is so significant because it is the bridge that helps customers turn their aspirations into ownership,” Maundu said.

Stanbic Bank Kenya said the MoU aligns with its asset finance strategy and is structured to provide an end-to-end customer experience. “This MOU reflects a shared vision to deliver practical, customer-centric mobility and financing solutions that empower individuals and businesses to grow and thrive. Through this partnership, we are combining CFAO’s leadership in mobility solutions with Stanbic’s expertise in asset finance to provide seamless vehicle financing,” said Kimani Njagi, Head of Vehicle and Asset Financing at Stanbic Bank Kenya.

The companies made the announcement during the 2026 Beauty Meets the Bonnet event, which the press release described as a women-only automotive platform focused on building confidence and knowledge around car ownership. According to the statement, attendees participated in test drives across CFAO Mobility models and went through practical maintenance sessions, including how to identify genuine versus counterfeit parts and how to change a tyre.

For Kenya’s automotive and banking sectors, such dealer-bank partnerships remain an important channel for stimulating vehicle sales and broadening asset finance uptake, particularly as buyers seek longer tenures and lower upfront costs. Financing terms such as extended repayment periods can improve affordability for salaried buyers, while partial financing for commercial vehicles can support fleet acquisition for small and medium-sized enterprises.

CFAO Mobility Kenya said the arrangement will cover models within its portfolio. In its company description, Toyota by CFAO Limited said it is the official distributor and service provider for brands including Toyota, Yamaha motorcycles, Volkswagen, Suzuki, Mercedes-Benz passenger vehicles, trucks and buses, Hino, Hyundai light trucks and Sinotruk (HOWO), and also operates AUTOFAST quick service stations and the Automark certified pre-owned brand.

Looking ahead, the effectiveness of the renewed MoU is likely to be measured by loan uptake, vehicle sales supported by credit, and the performance of after-sales and servicing demand associated with financed vehicles. The companies did not disclose targeted volumes, interest rates or the expected value of financing to be issued under the renewed agreement.

CFAO Mobility Kenya and Stanbic Bank Kenya have renewed a Memorandum of Understanding to continue offering vehicle financing for customers buying from CFAO Mobility’s portfolio. The arrangement includes up to 100% financing for personal vehicles and up to 90% for commercial vehicles, with tenures of up to 96 months for salaried customers, according to the companies.

MUA Insurance Kenya joins Blue Company Project in anti-corruption pledge

MUA Insurance Kenya joins Blue Company Project in anti-corruption pledge

3 min read

MUA Insurance Kenya has joined The Blue Company Project, a private sector-led coalition that promotes collective anti-corruption action, the insurer said in a statement dated May 15, 2026 in Nairobi.

The announcement comes as corruption continues to affect households and businesses, with the company citing Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) data showing “more than half of Kenyans” reported witnessing bribery and “nearly one in three” encountering it directly. The statement also cited survey findings that about a quarter of citizens were asked to pay a bribe in the past year, with the average bribe at about KSh 6,724 in 2025, up 38% from KSh 4,878 the previous year.

In the statement, MUA said it is seeking to embed integrity within governance structures, internal controls and company culture, positioning the move as part of a business-led approach to reducing corruption risks beyond enforcement.

“Joining The Blue Company Project reinforces our belief that the private sector has both the responsibility and capacity to lead in addressing corruption. We are keen on ensuring that every decision we make reflects transparency and accountability with integrity remaining a core operational element for our business and associations,” said Nixon Shigoli, Country CEO and Principal Officer at MUA Insurance (Kenya) Limited.

The company’s remarks were made against a wider policy and enforcement environment in which, according to the statement, the EACC reported preventing losses of more than KSh 16.5 billion in the 2024/2025 financial year through enforcement and preventive measures. However, the persistence of bribery across sectors, including within parts of the private sector such as financial services, highlights why companies are being pushed to strengthen compliance and governance frameworks.

For Kenya’s insurance market, anti-corruption and integrity commitments are increasingly tied to trust—an essential factor in customer acquisition, claims handling, procurement, and partnerships with corporate and public-sector clients. Sector players also face growing expectations around governance standards from regulators, investors, reinsurers and corporate buyers, especially where procurement and intermediated distribution models can create points of vulnerability.

The Blue Company Project membership may therefore add to a broader trend of firms formalising ethics and compliance programmes, particularly in financial services where reputational risk can quickly translate into slower premium growth, higher compliance costs or reduced access to partnerships. While the statement does not disclose specific internal measures, MUA framed the initiative as focused on transparency, accountability and governance.

MUA also provided business performance context for its wider operations, stating that in 2024 it reported gross written premium of KSh 22.9 billion across its markets, up 11% year-on-year. It said insurance service results rose to KSh 1.7 billion, profit after tax increased to KSh 1.1 billion, total assets reached KSh 66.1 billion, and assets under management stood at KSh 65.2 billion.

Looking ahead, MUA said its alignment with other organisations through the coalition reflects an intention to support integrity-driven business practices in Kenya. Further detail on implementation—such as supplier due diligence, whistleblowing mechanisms, audit outcomes or compliance reporting—would likely shape how the market assesses the pledge over time.

MUA Insurance Kenya has joined The Blue Company Project, a private sector-led coalition focused on collective anti-corruption action, the firm said on May 15, 2026 in Nairobi. The move comes as EACC data cited in the statement points to persistent bribery in everyday transactions, including an increase in the average bribe reported in 2025.